{Audiobooks} Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect feel-good summer read (Animal Ark Revisited) (English Edition)Author Lucy Daniels – Albawater.co

There was something about this story of a young, female vet that became clear when one of the reviews mentioned the author is also a children s writer Both the style and content has a young, na ve, feel about it which, in itself, isn t so bad but makes for rather sterile reading Mandy Hope, the main character is just too good to be true or indeed, particularly likeable She has the perfect family setup, loving but no longer as active as they were, grandparents the grey haired, apple cheeked variety Hardworking, highly respected parents running the local veterinary practice as a longstanding partnership in a stunning rural setting Idyllic and much the stuff of young fiction than an adult romantic novel The technical information is very well researched and I defy anyone who reads this book not to know the basics of animal and pet care by the end of it Political correctness is evident in bucket loads, from the same sex marriage of Mandy s best friend to the kitten loving Asian owner of the nearby campsite Anyone rehoming a dog, cat, horse or even a farmyard animal will have all the information they need to know exactly what they are supposed to do Great for animal lovers but as far as any romance was concerned, nothing about the storyline made me care enough about Mandy s relationship, which was as sterile as her surgery purported to be I have to confess that I prefer my romantic heroines to have a lot spark and humour than this emotionless, rather preachy young woman Great for wannabe female vets but not much for lovers of girl meets boy romantic fiction. I read the Animal Ark series of books to my young daughter many years ago so it was interesting to read how the main character, Mandy, in the story has evolved now she is an adult and a qualified vet.She still wants to save every animal she possibly can and has gained experience and a boyfriend after graduating and working in a large veterinary practice in Leeds She returns home to her parents to help them out in their small village practice and there she evaluates what she wants to do with the rest of her life.The story contains modern themes of love, friendship, tragedy and family values in this sweetly written story. This is one of the best books I ve read lately.Mandy is the daughter of 2 vets and she cone home to help her Mum and Dad out at the practice they run in her home town of Welford.She s got dreams of starting a rescue centre, her boyfriend wants to start his own veterinary practice in Leeds, but doesn t really listen to her dreams of a rescue centre as well.Mandy is very interested in the rehabilitation aspect of animals, especially when rehoming them and she goes to great lengths to prove herself.An answer may well have presented itself but how can Mandy get Simon to agree.Along with this part of the story there s James, her best friend from childhood and the fact his partner is ill, Mandy is trying to support them both too.Mandy makes new friends in Welford and when a sad event happens at a nearby farm, someone whom Mandy didn t have amor of time for really shows his community spirit Could they re be something there for Mandy.There are cats, dogs, cows, sheep and a lovely shire horse too.I m looking forward to the next instalment and have both the next books on pre order already I have a feeling things will look up for Mandy, but there will be sadness too. i absolutely loved animal ark as a child, and still do i have every book in the series over 60 that i have saved for my children i e myself haha these books inspired my life, and i have gone on to work in various animal rescues and vets as a veterinary nurse i was so excited to see this for sale in , i brought all 3 there and then this didnt disapoint AT ALL classic animal ark just updated for animals i always thought they should bring an adukt series out, and i couldnt put this book down, much like the original series ive also purchased the new released animal ark for my children to have, and as they love animals as much as i do, i am sure they will love them Nice uncomplicated fictional story but with quite in depth information about being a country vet so I realized the author must have done quite a lot of research on this subject If it s the same author who wrote the Animal Ark books, I now realize that I read all her children s books in the 90s when my son was small This book was a sort of mix of the two styles and could have been a little grown up for my taste but I will read the follow up just to see what happens. This was a free kindle book, so I thought that I would try it To begin with I found it hard work It was slow, and I found the writing style to be a little juvenile I looked up the author, and found that they had written a popular series of children s books, although this is a novel for adults.I kept returning to it, and eventually the storyline picked up momentum.Although it was a little twee in places, I did enjoy it in the end It did improve and I went on to read the next book in the series.It is a nice book, easy reading, once you get into it. I always loved the animal ark series as a child so I was very excited to stumble upon this book It was delightfull The characters have all grown but are still true to themselves The style of writing is mature and it s very easy to read and to identify with everyone At times it was a bit easy to see where it was going but not so much that it became boring.The story is long enough to be Worth every penny All in all it was a great read and I can t wait for the next two installments Chose to read this by the reviews it has so far received Nice little story Didn t like the pompous Simon one little bit Cringe Mandy was a likable character, kind hearted and loyal friend to James, became a little predictable tho but still enjoyed. Summer Days at Sunrise Farm, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available A stunning, beautiful tale of friendship and love I laughed and I cried, and cannot recommend it highly enough Books of All Kinds Newly qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds and her boyfriend Simon to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in, where shell help out with animals of all shapes and sizes in her parents surgeryBut its not all plain sailing Mandy clashes with gruff local Jimmy Marsh, and some of the villagers wont accept a new vet Meanwhile, Simon is determined that Mandy will rejoin him back in the city When tragedy strikes for her best friend James Hunter, and some neglected animals are discovered on a nearby farm, Mandy must prove herself When it comes to being there for her friends and protecting animals in need shes prepared to do whatever it takesThis gorgeous and heartwarming novel, based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series, is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde Read what everyones saying about Animal Ark Revisited An adorable read with a real sense of village communityBookworms and ShutterbugsJust the right amount of nostalgia wonderful and very poignantThe World is a Book BlogHeartwarming and endearing a gorgeous story filled with hope, joy, sweetness and light combined with the honesty of real lifeAn incredibly lovely story Rachels Random ReadsThe summer read ofGoodreads Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted Goodreads I loved every minute I had tears in my eyes at the first chapter GoodreadsFull of charm the perfect feel good summer read One of the best books Ive read I chose this rating as I feel the book justified a 5star rising It was an easy read with lots of content I enjoyed the dynamic of the different characters in a country setting I look forward to further books by this author